Toby

I’ve just got back from walking Toby and had the strongest urge to write…’From Tobys point of view’ so…..

Hi everyone, my name is Toby. I’m a cross breed of what I think was a Collie and a chocolate Labrador but I don’t know for definite who my parents were so that’s just a best guess! My mum decided that me writing something for her blog would be a nice idea…she’s a little bit nuts in case you hadn’t already realised but I love her none the less.

I’ve had a bit of a rough life as can be seen from the scars on my body and the damage to my teeth as well as the anxiety I have problems with. I must have had a happy home at some point before being tied up and almost starved by a group of travellers, but I don’t remember much of it except that I’m not allowed to mark the house or ‘do my business’ on the carpet.  My mum found me at Dogs Trust, they had rescued myself and another dog 6 weeks earlier and I really didn’t know what to think of them. They fed me and cleaned me, took me for walks and to the V.E.T’s because I wasn’t well and for other reasons I don’t want to talk about!

The day my mum walked through that door and looked in the kennel I was in with around 8 other dogs in the new arrivals section, as soon as they saw her and my Grandma come in they all went berserk but I couldn’t move, I couldn’t take my eyes off them. She walked away and I watched her go thinking that she didn’t like me, I went to a corner and sat there with my ears down and tail between my legs as the other dogs continued to make a racket and bounce off the walls. But she came back! She had gone to ask to see me on my own and take me for a walk and out we went, I was still terrified but she was gentle and by the end of the walk she told me she would be back.

This was taken on our second walk, I was still so scared but loved to be out and about sniffing around. I couldn’t trust her straight away but she kept trying.

After what seemed like forever she took me home, I was so skinny you can see all my ribs in this picture but I had plenty of food and lots of walks to build me back up and soon I was settled in.

I found my spot on the sofa next to her, apparently I was the first dog in the house that had been allowed up here but Grandma was a softy and all I had to do was look up at her with my big golden eyes and she caved.

Mum reminded me of how to play, when I first got there I just didn’t know what to do with a ball or a rope toy. Soon I was chasing those balls around the garden and tugging away on a rope against anyone who would play with me! I learnt to Sit, to Lie Down, to give a Paw and to Come when called I’m still building on all these and can do all sorts of things, who says you can’t teach an old dog new tricks!

I panic when my mum cries, I don’t know what to do and tend to try and get her to come and play with me or let me outside so we can get some fresh air. I’m always there when she needs a cuddle though, more than happy for her to brush me for a long time which seems to calm her down and always there to nudge her into going outside for a walk. She doesn’t get to wallow in self pity for long when I’m around there’s always something to do and I think she just needs reminding!

Today we went for a lovely walk through the fields, I love it when I’m allowed off the lead to run and sniff and pee on everything possible, she lags behind a little now and seems to struggle but I come back to check on her and make sure she’s ok.

There’s nothing like running through the long grass and feeling the wind on you fur!

Mum kept stopping to take pictures today of me, of the sky, of the flowers around us but she had a smile on her face even as she limped along behind me muttering about forgetting her walking poles.

If only we could be together everyday all day, walking, playing, meeting other dogs (another of my favourite hobbies so long as they’re friendly) I would be the happiest dog in the world. But for some reason she leaves me a lot of days to go somewhere she calls ‘work’. I hate it when I hear that word, it means a lot of boring time being left on my own and everytime she does I sit on my chair and look at her with my golden eyes that got me up on the sofa, hoping that she will come over scratch my ears and stay. I’m sure she almost understands what’s going on in my head when I look at her like that, if only she would listen!

No matter what I love my mum and I know she loves me, I can feel it when she strokes my head or throws a ball.

If only she wouldn’t make me go out in the car, or have a bath, tell me off for chasing those annoying cats in the garden or playing with a squeaky toy while she’s on the phone or take me to the V.E.T’s!

Leave a Reply

