The wintry garden…

…The leaves are falling, the grass is finally calming down in its growth spurt, the Mother is going to sleep. It’s my time of year, it’s cold but still some sunny days and I feel the world going into hibernation. Everything calms down, people don’t seem quite so overbearing and I can cover myself up again without overheating or having people think I’m weird for wearing my hoody and hiding in the hood.

Now Artyelf has been speaking about rocks…sounds silly? well tough because that’s where I’m going with it today.

After reading her posts about it I remembered quite a few weird little memories, nothing triggering to me but just…nice to remember. When I used to visit my Grumpa I would spend ages rummaging through his gravel for the pretty ones and put them in my pocket, I used to leave his house with pockets full of them and wet them to make them shine when I ran them through my fingers. I did the same on beaches, looking for fossils, looking for those beautiful rocks that grounded me in a way I didn’t understand at the time. I still have some of them and one my brother found many years ago that as far as I can tell is a fossil made by the burrowing of little animals and insects.

I love rocks and I think my garden shows that so I thought I’d share it with you…it’s not in full bloom, it’s cold and wet but I still love it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Welcome to my little patch of peace ๐Ÿ™‚ I need to get out there more!

13 thoughts on “The wintry garden…

    1. That was the major selling point for me, it had enough space that if I throw his ball he can get a bit of a run and there’s loads for him to sniff and pee on lol.

  1. I used to love to find pretty rocks also. I always wanted one of those contraptions that you put the rock in and the machine smooths it for you. But no such luck getting one for Christmas or anything. lol

    1. Hehe I remember seeing adds for rock polishers too but I like them in their natural state. You never know, keep hinting you might get one eventually! if not you can at least get some rock polishing cloths and do it by hand ๐Ÿ˜‰ xx

  2. This is wonderful! Thanks for all the photos. The wall is perfect, and I love the birdbath plinth, and the fossil at the front that looks polka-dotted. It’s great for me to see how others live, I have never traveled, and probably never live, but your photos bring your everyday life to life! (maybe we should all do a post with everyday photos from our days, that would be interesting) Love your little veggie patch, and I have a small gargoyle by my front door too. I looked at the long view of your backyard, and expected to see Harry Potter rising on his broom from one of those distant homes!!!

    I also love that thinking about rocks helped you remember some happy memories.
    I haven’t been able to read other blogs lately, but I’m so glad I popped in and found this post. I could feel the peace in your garden.
    Love to you. โ€โ™กโ€

    1. Oh I’m so happy you saw this today, I was hoping you’d pop by and have a look ๐Ÿ™‚ That sounds like a great idea, maybe we should suggest it to everyone and see what they come up with! haha if only I lived in as nice an area as Harry Potter did with his psycho aunt and uncle. There’s something so very calming about working in a garden, I love getting my hands dirty.
      Wish I could find the photo I took of the place when I first got it…the garden looked nothing like that lol and it took a lot of digging by me and my friends to get it up to scratch (they got bribed with BBQ to help hehe).
      Love to you too hun, you’d always be welcome in my little patch of greenery xoxoxox

Leave a Reply

