Policemans heel…never heard of it? me either….

I’ve been in pain with my foot for a couple of months, I put it down to my MS because…well it’s automatic when there’s no other obvious reason now a days. It hurts to move it and oh my to walk on it is not good at all! It feels almost like I’ve bashed it and it’s all swollen, but I’ve not damaged it at all as far as I know.

I went to see the Neuro yesterday to see what the hell was going on, because with my limping a whole load of other problems have come along with it, weakness and pain all over at different joints to the point where they give way on me as I’m walking or bending or…well anything at all as they see fit.

He did the usual, bending my legs to feel the muscles response, tickling my feet with that bloody stick, relex responses and then prodded the foot….ow! He’s gentle as he can be but ohhh it hurt.

The prognosis? Not a relapse (strange but I was disappointed!) He said it was Policemans heel, other wise known as plantar fasciitis

‘Plantar fasciitis (PF) is a painful inflammatory process of the plantar fascia, the connective tissue on the sole (bottom surface) of the foot. It is often caused by overuse of the plantar fascia or arch tendon of the foot. It is a very common condition and can be difficult to treat if not looked after properly. Another common term for the affliction is “policeman’s heel”.[1]‘ (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plantar_fasciitis)

http://wyfac.co.uk/foot-conditions/

In other words, I’ve been walking too much, mixed in with my gait issues from the MS, my foot has decided this is the only way to get me to listen. So it’s onto the ibuprofen, time to ring the GP and go and be poked and prodded by one of them too and see if they can give me some better Anti-inflammatory drugs to ease it off…there’s no chance of me staying off my feet between having a dog that needs walking, a job that involves being in your feet a lot and me not being good at sitting still for any amount of time.

I think I’ll have to find the number for my neurophysio too and see if she can give me any hints and tips as to what else I can do, I’m stretching it out as much as I can stand but I’m sure she’d have some ideas.

 

18 thoughts on “Policemans heel…never heard of it? me either….

  1. I hope you manage to find a solution.
    I have similar problems with my wrists (RSI. I think it is also called Writers Cramp, although that may be something else) the only way they can heal is if I stay away from the keyboard/computer, yet I need to type and it’s basically all I do all day.

    1. Ooh RSI is nasty sorry to hear you have it (yes it’s different though ;)) It’s so frustrating isn’t it!? Have you tried those wrist braces? Sometimes they help, ohhh or get voice recognition software 😛

  2. I have a similar issue but my problems lie around the bones toward the front of my feet. This comes from compensating for weak ankle and knee joints. My physio got special shoe inserts and it has helped but I also have to think about the way I walk.

    1. The Neuro mentioned that might be worth a try for me too, I’ll have to see what happens with the doc. I had a quick look at your page, is it the arthritis that causes the weakness or the other way round? Sorry to hear it whichever it is, but thank you for replying 🙂

      1. I had an accident when I was 22, broke my ankle, leg and some bones in my back. Now 24 years later osteoarthritis has taken hold at break sites and the joints that have had to compensate from my new approach to walking!

      2. ohhh it’s scary how those sorts of accidents follow you for years even after you think you’re all healed! The slightest issue with the way you walk and so many muscles and bones are affected even if you don’t notice anything wrong with it at first! :S

    1. Thank you hun, I’m used to pain unfortunately it goes with the territory, just hate new pain that I can’t explain or solve…at least this one might go away eventually 🙂 xx

      1. I have been in pain as well. especially in my legs and knees. I can hardly walk sometimes. The doc is doing tests now. So, I don’t know what it is yetl

      2. I have been in pain as well. especially in my legs and knees. I can hardly walk sometimes. The doc is doing tests now. So, I don’t know what it is yetl

      3. Sorry to hear that hun, I hope they can figure out what’s going on with you and get it sorted! Are they thinking arthritis? or is it not the joints that are the problem? xoxox

      4. yes he is thinking it might be some form of Arthritis. They are ruling other things out now. I am just getting old I guess lol. It is getting hard to keep up with Sasha though lol

  3. Sorry about this new issue. My H has had that in both feet for a few years. He finally got steroid shots for it and that seems to have helped, at least for now. Hoping you get some relief soon.

    1. Oh no! Poor fella, glad the shots have helped. I’m hoping that it’ll calm down soon without having to do anything like that, luckily I have a few days off so I can rest it a little 🙂 Thanks hun xx

Leave a Reply

