Wondering where Toby and I were?

Well in case anyone was wondering where I was yesterday I was spending the day cleaning.

My living room was disgusting, the place was covered in fur and junk to the point where I didn’t dare take a photo of it because I couldn’t have posted it any way. So you will just have to take my word for it, it was dis-gus-ting and really needed doing.

It took you the whole day? I hear you ask, well yes the joy of MS, I had to have many many many rests, more rests than cleaning towards the end and I knew if I turned on my laptop I would never get it done.

So the end result….

28737_10151261834904484_1503392951_n
The new rug is finally in place
Still not perfect but a hell of a lot better than it was!
Still not perfect but a hell of a lot better than it was!

Now Toby does not like the vacuum cleaner, he kept attacking it and making very strange whining talking noises to it and me as if he was telling it to go away. I would have tried to record it but I doubt you would have heard it over the noise of the vacuum and he was in no mood to be filmed at the time.

Please mummy no more vacuuming I like my fur being everywhere don't you?
Please mummy no more vacuuming I like my fur being everywhere don’t you?

Luckily he had no such problems with brushes or mops and once the old rugs were cleaned and rolled up he seemed much happier again though he did decide that where ever I had just mopped was the perfect place to lie down

What? Why shouldn't I lie here? my paws are clean mum I promise!
What? Why shouldn’t I lie here? my paws are clean mum I promise!

Part of this cleaning binge was to put down the new rug that my parents bought me…pretty don’t you think? and to get up some decorations. I’m not big on the whole Christmas thing because it’s become to commercial, but I will decorate my home in the way we have for centuries to remind myself that there is life and colour to come again in Spring. I made a mini forest on my dining table this year, it’s been building up for a while so I decided to go the whole hog this year and every tree I have has made a little patch of green in my living room.

375380_10151261246944484_204135867_n 9669_10151261245884484_1268878007_n

 

Now that my washing pileΒ  dining table is clear and decorated I’m going to have to try and keep on top of everything, annoyingly I have clothes drying again already but I’m determined to keep on top of the ironing now that I finally cleared the mountain and got it all put away.

Once I finished I treated myself to a nice home cooked meal and it looked so yummy I couldn’t resist taking a photo of it to show you that I can cook πŸ˜›

Grilled chicken, salad, homemade coleslaw and potato salad
Grilled chicken, salad, homemade coleslaw and potato salad

It was sooo yummy and Toby was rather jealous of it. It may be a bit cold for salad but who cares when it has a lovely piece of grilled chicken breast smothered in spices and sweet chilli sauce! I’m making myself hungry now and it’s nowhere near to lunchtime yet.

I’m deciding which room is going to be attacked next now…the kitchen is in dire need, my bedroom is…well almost as disgusting as the living room was, the hall and stairs really need dusting and vacuuming and my poor study has been filled with so much junk I can barely move in there. Have you ever watched those programs about hoarders? I’m turning into one, but I’m determined to keep trying to clear out every now and then to stop it getting to that stage.

I think…..the kitchen has to be next…it really needs a thorough scrubbing and I have jars of preserves that need labelling still sat on the counter that have been there for weeks waiting. Now all I need to do is make myself move off this very comfy sofa in this nice clean room and make myself start all over again πŸ™„

 

21 thoughts on “Wondering where Toby and I were?

  1. Very pretty living room! Must make you feel loads better to see such a clean tidy room. I know it does me. Though it rarely happens πŸ˜‰ good luck with your escapades today!! X

    1. Thank you πŸ™‚ it does make me feel that bit better and once I manage to sort out some of my kitchen I’ll feel even better. It’s rare here too I think that’s why it took so long to get it up to standard πŸ˜† xx

  2. Your house looks so lovely and christmassy!
    I’m cautiously curious about the hoover, sometimes I ignore it, sometimes I bark at it, sometimes I run from it. And sometimes if I’m very lucky and it gives me treats! So I always have to check it out just in case it’s one of those special days:-)

    1. Thank you πŸ™‚ Treats? hmmm maybe if my hoover gave Toby treats he would like it much more. it’s the same with my hairdryer…must just be the noise that annoys his poor little ears :~

  3. I hate the cleaning, there’s a room in my place that nobody dares to enter, is full of crap. However, I have to clean it this week cuz there’s a lot of people coming over, I’ve been dreading this time.
    Doggy likes the vacuum cleaner, I think is because the noise reminds him of the hair dryer, which he loves.
    Dinner looks amazing, and so those the decoration.

    1. Glad I’m not the only one….there’s always one room that’s like that lol I hope Doggy can help you clean it before the visitors arrive! Toby hates the hair dryer too but finds it a lot less exciting because it doesn’t move around on the floor like very noisy prey! πŸ˜†

  4. your living room looks beautiful and that rug is perfect! Yes, I did wonder where you were yesterday sweety. It seems that people are starting to disappear on me lately. I don’t want you to drift away too. I have an awful time with the dog hair. Plus, I have the cat as well. I have tried so many things to get it all up but nothing works. It is hard to keep it up since it will be hairy again by the end of the day. I had to really do some fur clensing last thursday because my son’s girlfriend is very allergic. I have to do it every time they come to visit. I have a good vacuum but it just pulls the fur out of the carpet and leaves it there. But I tell my mother that I am not getting rid of my animals no matter how much hair lol. Have a good day and take a rest!

    1. Ah I’m around just don’t want to complain constantly so trying to think up posts that are a bit more positive and make changes for myself that help with my low mood πŸ™‚ Oh no! one dog that seems to constantly moult is bad enough never mind having a cat too! I have to make sure the brush is down on the vacuum head in order to stand a chance at picking up the fur and it has been known to see me sitting on the floor combing the carpet with tobys comb…it picks it up really well πŸ˜†
      Bah you’re right to tell your mother no…we took on our pets for better and fur worse they are our furever furbabies and there is no way I’d get rid of mine either Thanks hun πŸ™‚ xx

      1. lol I resorted to going over the carpet scrubbing it with Sashas brush! It really works well, I know. I just recently broke it though and can not find one like to replace it. I can’t find one as big. On furnature, I just found out that mixing fabric softener and water in a spray bottle and spraying the furnature and then vacuuming works well. I also but two or three dryer sheets in the dryer with my clothes and it totally gets the hair that made it through the wash.

      2. haha and I thought I was the only one ended up doing that! Ohh now there’s an idea thanks for the hint I’ll have to try it. Shame I don’t have a tumble dryer or I’d give that one a go too, most of my clothes don’t store the fur…but the dressing gown I have on at the moment is a bugger for it lol xoxox

  5. It looks beautiful! I cleaned my apartment last week as well because it was no longer… inhabitable. And after looking at this delicious meal above I’m hungry now πŸ™‚ xx

    1. Thank you πŸ™‚ if only it lasted and I never had to do it again…uninhabitable kind of sums up the rest of my house at the moment but I’ll get there hehe xx

  6. Your house looks beautiful! It takes me days to clean a room, and I don’t have MS. No fur around the house, but I do have an 8 year old who drops toys and other objects like detritus wherever she goes. Arghhh.

    1. Whether the children are furry or fleshy they will find a way to make a mess…and the toys oh the toys have crept their way back out onto my nice clean carpet. SO far we have 6 squeaky, 2 that gobble, one rope toy and a ball in a large pile next to the coffee table…oh and two rawhide bones. at least they’re easy to tidy away again! You have my sympathy if she has lego or mushi monsters…it goes everywhere at work lol xx

  7. I know what you mean about cleaning. It takes me all week to vacuum and pick up the whole house. I’ve gotten better about the kitchen, staying on it and having help helps, but the bathroom, now that’s a tough chore. Tomorrow I tackle that! Hang in there!

    1. Why are you closing them down hun? I’ll miss you too 😦 I hope everything goes well for you and you keep fighting the way you have, you’ve been an inspiration to me and so many others. Toby and I send you great big hugs and hope to see your gravatar on here again at some point. Feel free to e-mail me any time scienerf@hotmail.co.uk xxxx

Leave a Reply

