Blog for mental health 2013 has begun!

blogformentalhealth20131
I pledge my commitment to the Blog For Mental Health 2013 Project. I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others. By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health. I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.

 

The Blog for Mental Health 2013 is here complete with a fabulous new badge that will be proudly displayed on this blog.

I’ve been pledged by mywonderfulabnormalmind aka ‘I was just thinking’ and I’m honoured that she thought of me. I do so long for mental health to be more out in the open and this idea…well it’s wonderful!

For all the details on it and to join the cause go over to A canvas of minds, this isn’t an award, this is a badge that says I speak about my mental health, my physical health and try to do it openly on here (or here). We are trying to bring mental health problems out into the open and allow everyone to speak freely about them.

Ok apparently as part of taking this pledge I need to give you a short Bio on my mental health….anyone who reads my blog knows I don’t do ‘short’ that well but I’ll give it a go.

 

I’ve had issues with my mental health for as long as I can remember really, mostly anxiety and mild depression as a child due to …well a whole host of things. I never really thought much about it, it was how I was and who I was and didn’t know any different until things came to a head in 2008.

I was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis a disease of the nervous system and I plummeted into a pit of depression that I couldn’t find a way out of. I finally asked for help and ended up being diagnosed with an adjustment disorder, anxiety, depression and a very vague one of borderline personality disorder (I’m chasing that one up at the moment) after a stay in hospital.

It hasn’t been easy but I managed to move on and get back out into the community fighting my agoraphobia and the Blackdog with the help of a support worker. Things aren’t going that well at the moment but I’m still fighting with the help of everyone on here and my friends.

 

OK who to pledge? who to pledge? Most of the guys and girls I would pledge for this one are already part of canvasofminds  but there are a few of you that aren’t who I think should be in on this one.

mm172001

all change Ali

Bluey

Bourbon and co

and everyone over at Black box warnings

 

Remember anyone who writes about mental health can have this badge on their blog, we’re all standing together and showing the world there’s nothing to be scared of when it comes to tackling these issues. It’s time to change, it’s time to talk 😉 for those of you in the UK that will make sense.

 

9 thoughts on “Blog for mental health 2013 has begun!

  1. Yay, for you. I think it’s awesome that your doing this. I feel the same way about Yopd less than 1% of the people with pd are under 50 and less than that are my age. So bravo to you for being an advocate for a cause that you believe in and effects your day to day life!!!

  2. This is really brilliant, I love it. And I’m glad you mentioned BBW. I thought about them, but wasn’t sure exactly how that one would work, with so many, many people involved. Thank you so much for being a part of this!

  3. Pingback: Full of life
  4. I just took the pledge myself and I’m visiting my comrades who are blogging for mental health.

    I was diagnosed with Bipolar in 1995 and have had many ups and downs, but am now blessed to enjoy relative stability. Blogging really helps.

    I look forward to reading more of your posts. Perhaps we can encourage each other.

Leave a Reply

