Lumpy nose finally takes the hint!

image

I’ve had a lump on the bridge of my nose for over a year. It started getting so big it was encroaching on my vision and people would stare at it, not good when you already suffer with paranoia and social anxiety. I finally bit the bullet a month ago and spoke to a doctor about it. He couldn’t do anything about it himself and said he would refer me on with the warning it may be hard to convince anyone to operate on it on the nhs as it was more cosmetic than anything else. I was waiting for an appointment to come through hoping I could convince them to remove it. This morning I was pressing on it, a habit I’ve gained over the time it has been there and I noticed that something was coming out of it. The lump had finally popped! I spent half an hour slowly pressing on it and making it empty of the gunk that was inside it. Sorry if that’s too much information (even though I’m holding back on details) but its just such a relief. I called and cancelled the referal to their surprise and though I’m now left with a very sore side of my nose but a huge sense of relief to know that I can hopefully rid myself of this horrible lump! My skin is horrendous between adult acne, hydradenitis suppurativa and other annoyances I refuse to show more than I have to and sometimes wish I could cover every inch but since I struggle to regulate my temperature at the best of times that’s really not an option!

19 thoughts on “Lumpy nose finally takes the hint!

  1. With my skin issues on my face; I get the paranoia over people staring. How wonderful that it has gone for you now! I wonder what it was?! x

    1. Sorry to hear you do too its horrible isn’t it? But I do try to convince myself that’s not what they’re staring at 😦 I think it was a badly blocked oil gland from what came out of it but it never came to a head like acne :s if it was a sebaceous cyst as the gp thought I don’t know how it popped I didn’t think they would! Xx oh did you get my email?

      1. Shoot!! Yes I did!! I’m sorry I read it at 7am this morning and then fell back to sleep and must have completely forgot about it!!! My memory is so flakey sorry. How long are you normally up for at night time? I will send you a text message asap so you have my number too! xx xx

  2. I am so glad you have gotten some relief. I’m sure it couldn’t have been comfortable. I hope it heals well and never bothers you again! xxx

    1. I think it’s a case of it getting worse before it gets better at the moment, all swollen and sore but I’m hoping once it goes down I will have a normal nose again πŸ˜›
      Thanks Red xox

  3. Because your brilliant you already know this but just in case, hot cloth compress, baking soda paste after compress. Let dry completely. Used to use something like this in the field to rapidly drain wounds, works good.
    And yeah ewww lol xx
    Benjamin πŸ˜€

    1. Ah not thought of the baking soda compress! It’s a closed wound now the hole was no bigger than a pore but I’ll give it a try. The tissue around it has swollen up from all my poking and prodding I’ve bruised it, looks kind of like I’ve been punched lol.
      Were you an emergency medic or a doctor? Kept meaning to ask but…brain like a seive πŸ˜‰

    1. I’ve had a few of them over the years but this is the only one that’s been somewhere other people could really see! I’ve been waiting for it to do something for so long I’d given up hope it would go on its own lol.
      Glad yours went of it’s own accord too πŸ™‚

    1. The lump didn’t hurt really it was just getting so big! It’s a strange thing but like most injuries it seems to be getting worse before it gets better lol….if only I could stop messing with it πŸ™„

    1. Oh definitely! I think it’s been about 2 years or more I’ve had it but it recently got much bigger and so much more noticeable, it was probably the size of your eye Misaki! lol

  4. I know this was posted a long time ago but was googling as i have a similar problem. I just wondered before yours burst what was it like? I have a lump in the exact same place yours was just really hard doesnt hurt but is quite big now its slightly worrying is that how yours started?

    1. That sounds very similar to mine, I got it checked by the doc and I’d suggest the same to you but try not to worry about it. a lot of lumps are just sebaceous cysts where the oily fluid the skin produces has become blocked and builds up. Mine still comes back every now and then but I can at least release some of it and stop it getting so large now. I hope yours shrinks down soon or at least you get some answers from your doctor x

Leave a Reply

