Everyone can save a life…


526931_10151400105569484_256175215_n

 

I’m getting on my high horse…but for a good reason so stick with it.

Do you recognise that card above? Well if you’re in the UK you should do and if you’re in the USA or other countries you’ll have something similar or a marking on your driving licence that has the same purpose.

Saving lives when we lose ours!

I have had a donor card and told my family my wishes since I was a child of about 12 years old. This card is mine, my new one because the first one wore out.

64541_10151400106319484_1681952674_n

One day when I pass away whether through natural or unnatural causes my organs will go to someone who needs them. My passing will allow another person to live for more years and yours could too.

I was reminded of how important these little cards are today because a young lady I know has finally been put on the organ transplant list to get her new lungs.

She has battledΒ leukaemia for far too many years and has finally been told she is in remission once again but the treatment has taken its toll. She has a rare skin condition from the chemotherapy and her lungs have been so damaged by a lung infection after her last round of chemo that she now needs new ones.

She is fabulous and at 16 is still fighting this battle but has it left her feeling sorry for herself? No! She raises money for charities and promotes knowledge about her conditions gaining her the young person of the year award from her local area.

This could happen to anyone you know. Any ones kidneys, liver, lungs, heart, eyes….any organ can give up on us at any time and for no fault of our own.

Would you deny your child, your neighbour or even a stranger from half way across the country the chance to live with one of your organs when you can not use it any more?

I would hope not and I hope also that you have one of these cards, that you have told your family and friends what your wishes are so that when the time comes…those pieces of you can be passed along.

Our bodies are naught but a shell containing our souls. Once the soul has passed on to the next level of life we have no use for them except to fertilise the soul of our mother earth. Why not put that shell to use?

When I pass I will be watching to make sure that my wishes are followed and I will watch those who are given this the greatest gift closely and with a smile on my ethereal face as I see them carrying on πŸ™‚

 

16 thoughts on “Everyone can save a life…

  1. Beautiful post Mel, I’ve thinking about a similar post for my blog, about donating.
    I’m also a donor, my parents have encouraged it since my brother and I were little, we have a rare blood type AB- my parents taught us the importance of donating blood and getting the donor card so someone else could live on thanks to us.
    Good for you and for the courage of that young girl.
    xx

    1. Thanks Leo…should have thought about it and you could have had it as a guest blog since I never managed to do it last time with the brain melt. She is such a brave young lady, she’s one of my ex’s nieces and a fabulous young woman…shame how it always happens to the young and the lovely people instead of the horrible ones. I’m so glad your parents encouraged you and you’re passing on the message too πŸ™‚ xx

  2. I am on the donor register, and am giving blood for the first time on friday. On another note, which is less publicised, I am on the bone marrow register – it is slowly growing but needs many more people to join up and save lifes. It may not be as bad as people think actually donating – sometimes they can do it through a simple blood transfusion. Please, everyone who reads this, check out the Anthony Nolan Trust (google it). All you need to do is register, and they send you a spit kit to get registered. You might just save someones life. I haven’t been affected nor has my family or friends, my blood or bone cancer, but I feel like I need to give something back xx

    1. I wish I could donate blood etc but with all my medication and some of it being injected I’m not allowed 😦 I wish more people didn’t feel the need to wait until someone close to them gets ill before becoming a donor I’m glad you have πŸ™‚ xx

    1. That’s the same as me, too many drugs and needles involved in my medication to be giving blood to other people but they can take any organ they want when I go….I only don’t want them taking limbs or anything like that because it doesn’t work and the idea creeps me out…they can have skin though. Am I weird for that? maybe but hey ho πŸ˜‰

      1. Ah see my eyes I don’t mind at all though they only really use the corneas. The research into limb transplant has reached a bit of a dead end because we can’t rejuvinate nerves, they can attach the big ones sometimes but the fine tuning…and usually they’re rejected so quickly….ah I don’t know maybe if they fix those problems I’ll change my mind.

  3. I’ve been an organ donor since 16 when I got my drivers license, it use to be a pink sticker that often fell off or got scraped and all, now it’s a permanent graphic on the DL. I can’t give blood cuz medications and medical conditions as well. But when I had my VNS stimulator taken out I told them to donate it to someone else, kind of like they do with pace makers.

    1. So many people wouldn’t and it’s lovely of you to think of others like that! I go with the idea that what goes around comes around I’ve never managed to give blood between having piercings, operations, medications and conditions…but some day someone will get something of mine that will change their life πŸ™‚ xx

    1. I wrote a status about it on facebook but just had to expand on it and put it on here to spread round the world too πŸ™‚ Sorry to hear about your friend, I hope they find a liver for them soon so they can have another chance at more time xx

      1. Thank you for your sympathy. He’s doing his best, and we’re trying to be supportive of him. It’s going to be very hard on my husband; they’ve best friends since grade school.

Leave a Reply

