In the hospital car park

images

Stop

hold on

rest in the pain

they look back

worry in their eyes

mouthing

‘Are you OK’

Nod, smile

watch them walk away

let the tears well 

but don’t let them fall

hold

until sanctuary is reached

let the car absorb them

let the pain go

screams held tight

locked

tight behind my teeth

only I hear them

as the tears fall

cool water

slowly trickles

to my chin

hide 

let no one see

behind the mask

hand raised

to keep it in place

breathe

push it back down

lock away the pain

stop

11 thoughts on “In the hospital car park

    1. Thank you, I’ve tried to rest, did a very short walk with Toby and ended up chatting to my next door neighbour for ages and getting a cuddle from her little boy, the teary blip has passed I hope xox

      1. True but I really wish I hadn’t been so exposed when it happened! I’d parked right next to one of the entrances so there were cars going past me constantly with no where to hide and I couldn’t drive until I got a handle on things..luckily I’d taken a couple of tissues with me this morning :S xox

Leave a Reply

