The green man is back in action around here…Spring!

greenman

He strides through the woods

bringing life as he goes

bracken and hazel

willow and rose

To protect and to nurture

his purpose each year

brings forth the new life

as he walks far and near.

MC 7/4/13

The Green Man is an ancient spirit, the male counterpart to the Goddess bringing balance to the world and caring for all things green. He is said to stride through the forests and to still be seen in the areas not well known and corrupted by man.

Well I’ve decided that my next project will be to make a Green man out of crochet…you can get plaques all over the place  to put out in your garden but I wanted to make something myself to have in the house too. I went searching for a pattern but there isn’t anything out there and so I’m having to make it up as I go along.

To say I’ve not been crocheting very long and making things like this for an even shorter time, this could turn out very badly! But I’ve managed to get a basic head done and started sculpting the leaves that will surround his head. It’s harder than you’d think to make a face look like a face out of crochet, especially when your making said face out of leafy shapes.

537164_10151505818844484_328152914_n

I need some brown wool and some other shades of green to do what I have in my head but it being Sunday I doubt any of the craft shops near me will be open so I will have to make do with what I have. His beard is in the style of fir branches  partly because I couldn’t get the shape of his lips right and they’ll cover it slightly, as well as the fact the texture seems right.

This is keeping my hands busy and my mind at least somewhat peaceful but I will have to break from it for a while to do the last assessment on this stupid long distance learning course for work. If I get it done today then at least it’s one less stress on my mind and I can hopefully relax a little more. I’m still signed off work until Tuesday though I’ll have to try and get in to see another doctor to discuss what the hell is going on with me at the moment and get another note. It’s still very painful if I stand too long (more than a couple of minutes) and doing anything like cooking, cleaning, walking though they have to be done are not pleasant. Since my job entails doing those sorts of things constantly for 6 hours at a time…well it’s just not looking promising.

I need to discuss with my GP the fact that my health has been taking a serious down turn this year, I don’t think that working is helping matters but I don’t want to just up and quit if there is anything else I can do. I think I’ll have to look into work that isn’t so physically demanding, but I honestly can’t think of anything that I would be able to do, would want to do, wouldn’t make me bonkers that involved not caring for others. Desk work has never appealed to me.

So a  Sunday of coursework, films, crochet and maybe reading the new books I acquired from Amazon about BPD and DBT….I might not manage to do all of the above but at least I have plenty to keep me occupied 🙂

9 thoughts on “The green man is back in action around here…Spring!

  1. you do so well with your crocheting I can’t wait to see it complete. Looks like a good way to celebrate earth day! I sure hope that you can find some employment that isn’t so stressful on your body soon. xx

    1. Thanks carla 🙂 I’ll have to start searching I think but I really have no idea what I could do that isn’t as active, I’ve always had jobs on my feet all day! Xx

      1. me too. I am like you, I never could stand desk jobs. Most of my jobs were in factories standing on concrete floors lol I wish you the best.

  2. So new to the whole knitting/crocheting/etc. So I have a question, after the green man is done, do you stuff it with a filler or is it all crocheted?

    1. I’ve already stuffed the head with filler, there’s a little bag of it sat next to me at the moment 🙂 the dragon was stuffed too except for his wings. The knitting or crochet only gives you a layer of wool and to make it 3D you fill it with something and stitch it all together to make it the right shape. I started off making squares, playing with different stitches and getting used to it that I made into a blanket in the end :p

  3. That’s brilliant! You’re doing so well.
    I really like that aspect of crochet, being able to sculpt shapes easier than with knitting.
    And I love the idea of a Green Man. Happy hooking!

    1. Thank you 🙂 I’m having fun teaching myself how to make 3D shapes with that little hook though it’s frustrating sometimes and keep undoing and redoing things over and over to make them work.
      I’ve always loved the thought of a Green Man, so similar to the Ents of Lord of the Rings and other storybook creatures, the idea brings me comfort and I hope having one around will remind me in the dark days of winter that spring will return 🙂 xox

Leave a Reply

